Civil Services 2011 Interview

Board Chairman: Mr I M G Khan

Date: 21st March, 2012 (Approx duration: 30 minutes)

The board comprised of 5 members including the chairman (named C here-onwards). There was 1 lady member sitting to the right of the chairman, along with 3 other gentlemen.

I just so wanted to bow down, to the extent of immolating myself if required, more ceremonious the bow, higher will be the marks, I thought, nahi kya?

Reality dawned. I heard myself saying a polite Good Morning Madam, Good Morning Sirs, and Good morning Sir (to the Chairperson, I know you are important, I know you are !!!, three Good Morning in a row, Gosh!!! I am so proud of myself).

C: Please be seated

A: Thank you Sir (See how polite I am, see, Three Good Mornings then an immediate thanks,  I know all the rules of the game, Can I expect 250 now ? !!!)

C: You were getting quite a handsome salary after your first job. Are you aware that Civil Services won’t be able to match that up anytime during your career?  Have you thought of this? Still you want to go for it, why?

Ans: (o teri !!!, this is anticipated, go for the kill !!!!, C’mmon don’t grin, you are not supposed to do this) I am aware of this, Sir. My reason for choosing Civil Services is a combination of many factors. (The Chairman seemed quite supportive and his continuous affirmation to my conversation led me to utter the following sentences in ‘Hindi’ for which I had already prepared) Sir, I remember when I was quite young, my parents used to say this to me and my sister: Whenever we used to get delayed or not picked our utensils after our meals: “tum kahin ke collector ho kya? Tumhaare liye baaki log wait karte rahenge or tum laat sahib ho jo man me aaye karoge”, and I started smiling (The panel also started laughing, Chairman acknowledged this by affirmation and said yes I agree with what you are saying), I continued that the impression of a Civil Servant in my mind as a child was a person who is above all in terms of authority. I realized that apart from money, I need to do something for my society and country, which was a recurring thought throughout. I am also motivated by the authority and breadth of responsibility that this role can offer which is unparalleled. (The answer seemed to drag a little, but the board were visibly interested in listening and hence I continued, the phrase in Hindi was risky, but apparently gone well)

C: You mentioned authority; do you know what comes with it?

Ans: (First tell me what are you eating, is it polite not to ask the other person, especially so, when he looks so helpless and dressed in yellows and browns) Sir, I think with Authority comes responsibility (I love Spiderman!!!!). Chairman interrupted and said not merely responsibility, but accountability. I affirmed (I don’t love Spiderman too much!!!)

C: Can you tell us, what could be the basis for different type of authorities?

Ans: Sir, Intellectual knowledge, money, power and prestige, (paused for some time), social and cultural factors.

M1 (takes over from the Chairman): During your college and your job, you have worked across in different states, can you tell us about the developmental scenarios in those states and what are the possible reasons which make a state ‘developed’ than the other?

Ans: Mam, I think a combination of factors e.g. geographical location for e.g. Maharashtra and Gujarat have well developed ports and transportation, natural resources e.g. a state like Uttrakhand’s economy is very much dependent on tourism, (took pause)…law and order situation e.g. there are some states which are deeply affected by this and if unfortunately one state is located near to any such state automatically problems start creeping (I blabbered some more on this), (pause again) and very importantly the political and administrative leadership for e.g. In Surat after the plague the work done by the Municipality under the legendary Mr Rao was very impressive. (I thought further but couldn’t say anything else).

M1: Can you tell me the different traits of a good leader? (I mentioned sound political and administrative leadership as one of the factor which could expedite the development process, as a part of the answer to the previous question)

Ans: Mam, I think Integrity, honesty, a person who can walk the talk (wow!!!) and serve as an inspiration to others.

M1: Ok, you must have heard of this trend of ‘alleged criminals’ joining the politics, what is your take on this whole affair?

Ans: (thought for a while, why did she mentioned alleged criminals, she should have said criminals and then I would have said, “Mam with due respect, many such criminals are ‘alleged criminals’, so it would not be apt to generalize them under criminals”, Alas, here is the lost opportunity like so many others, speak up, you duffer, they are looking at you…) Mam, I think that there have been a growing number of cases wherein some political parties have allowed party tickets to these alleged criminals (I unnecessarily uttered this sentence, as I was thinking of how to say a ‘No’ to this which was my take on this). In my opinion, this practice should not be encouraged. How can I trust my leader if he has allegations against his name. I think Election Commission should explicitly debar this practice. There have been notable recommendations by some of the committees on electoral reforms and I think the stage has come for this to be discontinued. (There were several pauses while I answered this). Mam, also I think general public is becoming smart enough to read between the lines and the people are realizing that their vote is precious and unless they have a viable reason they won’t vote for an alleged criminal.

M1: If general public is becoming smart enough, than what is the reason why political parties nominate people from a criminal background?

Ans : Money and the muscle power (She probed more. I mentioned that it could be a case like Robin Hood, perhaps some of them are criminals in the eyes of law, yet they might treat local populace in a conducive manner. She was still looking for some other answer, she hinted that it has to do with press and media and it was very much in vogue now a days, but except staring at her and at the ceiling I couldn’t listen myself saying anything. I looked appealingly at the Chairman’s eyes; apparently he understood my helplessness and signaled the next member to take the charge, I love you Mr Khan).

M2: Have you heard of the Kashmir Problem? Can you trace its genesis and suggest solutions?

Ans: Sir, it at the time of independence India was divided into a number of princely states, Kashmir being one of them. Maharaja Hari Singh who was the then ruler of Kashmir fearing an attack on his territory asked for the Union of India’s help and Sardar Patel sensing a good opportunity (paused…) helped to merge the princely state with the Union. Post, this there was a referendum. (God, let them not ask me the difference between Referendums and Elections and RtR etc etc…) M2 cut short and asked me what the problem is?) . Kashmir never really became a part of the country and many inhabitants think that India and Kashmir are two disjointed entities. They also feel that there is always a prejudice against Kashmir and over a period of time the bitterness has been affirmed which is visible by various incidents (I was not coherent and took some time to frame these sentences).

As far as solution is confirmed, I think that continuous trust building measures and making the local populace believe that Kashmir is a part of the nation and was, and is never looked at a separate entity is must. Also, continuous development measures e.g. providing employment opportunities to the youth population and measures to eradicate poverty (I took some time to form this sentence) is critical. A recent 3 member delegation also suggested the need for trust building as the most important part.

(M2 was not quite impressed and I thought that he wanted some more explanation, but I already uttered quite a lot and was basking in the glory of the knowledge of history, Maurice Odumbe after hitting the six off Brett Lee)

M2: Have you heard of bio-fuels? Can you explain what are they and what are the biofuels that we can use in space related travel?

Ans: Sir, I have heard of Biofuels. They are man made for e.g. bioethanol or natural compounds which are used as alternative to the traditional fuels. They are environmental friendly and over a period of time being readily used. (thought for a while..I think I mentioned cow dung also in the intermittent pausesL)I am sorry Sir, I am not able to recall the latter (Maurice Odumbe retired hurt off the next ball)

M2: But, do you think that there are compounds which are being used as fuel for aviation or space travel?

Ans: Yes Sir, there are Biofuels which have been found to be appropriate for both of this, am sorry can’t recall their name though.( Maurice Odumbe retired from the game itself)

M2: Can you describe the current India’s economic/ financial scenario?

Ans: (Rebirth , wow !!!) This was a long answer from my side. I started with India coming unscathed from the Global Financial Crisis. GDP growth rate has been very impressive. Service sector is booming and a large number of productive population is helping the country e.g. in IT and ITES sector . Financial reforms started in 1990s have helped a lot in liberalization and with booming forex reserves  etc  etc there is a lot of optimism. However, the recent inflation rates and miserable performance in Industrial sector coupled with almost stagnant Agriculture growth is a cause of concern. Two decades of reform and we need more (don’t remember said some more on this). All in all, the situation today is very critical and a guarded optimism from the fiscal and monetary point of view is necessary. (This was a very broad question, I should have taken some time in organizing my thoughts and could have presented it in more systematic way).

M3: You must have heard of something called ICT and e-governance used in running day to day administration, we all know how useful it is. In fact, ARC-II has explicitly applauded it, yet we know they are certain disadvantages of it. Can you list some along with their solutions?

M3: Sir, ICT is the need of the hour(ooh la la, how novel !!!). Transparency and efficiency enhancement however has also brought some disadvantages. (M3 interrupted: Don’t you think we have become more ‘stupid’ because of their overuse?)I continued…it is true that due to the dependence on technology we tend to miss the actual conversation with the human beings and the two way process of communication takes a hit. With technology its a single path communication and the intellectual discussions that could have otherwise happened, doesn’t happen.  Also, the physical problems associated with it for e.g. stress on eyes and the body is also a concern. (I am not too sure whether this was what he wanted to listen, this seemed too obvious grrrrr, M3: How can you solve this?)I think that we should take appropriate breaks in between and continuous sittings should be discouraged. Also, informal and formal gatherings for e.g. brainstorming sessions, lunch break, tea breaks at due point of time should be encouraged (what was this, an answer or a self help session)

M4: I want to know your thoughts on the current federal structure of Indian Polity? Have there been any recent changes?

Ans: (I also am so itching to bombard you with whatever I know, wait !!!!!!) Long answer from my end)Sir, there has been a recent trend of local parties winning in their respective states because of a number of factors. While there was a one party rule in the centre for decades, over a period of time there is the rise of a coalition era which has made phenomenal change in the way Centre and State relations have emerged.  People have realized that mere broad promises won’t matter, it is the actual work in the field and visible development which actually matters. Hence regional parties with specific contextual agenda and not a broad macro agenda resonated with the populace. (M4: Give some instances) However, there have been cases which has caused rupture between the Centre and the State relations (While answering, I blurted the name of TMC while citing the example of sacking up of the minister after the Railways Budget, to which the Chairman interjected and advised me not to name any party .It was a mistake and I hurriedly apologized and carried on with the answer. I said some more which I don’t remember)

M4: Do you think there are certain linkages with the way the coalition runs, and the time taken in the Cabinet decisions? How can you improve this? Also, do you think there is an absence of intra-party consensus in the country now, and it is a visible sign of feudalism

Ans: (Dicey !!!, I was cautious not to brand the system as tending towards feudal which would have been the case if I would have said yes to the answer upfront, took some time while answering)I said there has been a growing tendency in many parties of examples involving a lack of consensus. There have been recent examples in Uttrakhand and Karnataka, also in the centre where due to the lack of consensus the image of the party is getting tarnished, and also the decision making has suffered. But I wouldn’t term this as feudalism. I think the public now-a-days is too smart to understand the happenings in closed party offices and hence the parties themselves are cautious about the need for speedy decision making which requires consensus. Having said do, yes there have been many examples of this lack of consensus. (I took many pauses while answering this and was not too coherent)

The Chairman took the baton and asked me directly, name any one party which could claim that its intraparty consensus mechanisms are smooth?  I answered that I don’t think that there is any party, Sir. He answered that that’s what the gentleman is asking. We are running into this serious consensus deficit now a days and the country is suffering because of this. He himself answered that as far as the tousle between centre and state is concerned, it is both ways. The centre thinks that states are getting too powerful and the states intern think that their concerns are not getting sufficiently addressed. These pushes and pulls are part of the system that we live in.

C : Do you think that this will change in the future?

Ans: I think that time taken in decision making will not be a smooth process in the future. It is a reality with which we have to live on. However, a strong leadership at the centre and at the cabinet level will help smoothen this (Now, will you vote for me, I have filed for a ticket this time)

C: We are done with the interaction. Just one last question. What single most important quality/trait has TISS given/ developed in you that you think will help you in running the administration?

Ans: (Why done, please ask me something from my hobby, please no one asks me, I have spent my life with wikipedia and internet to understand and mug many summaries of the books and movies that I haven’t read/ seen, pls pls, don’t disappoint me) Sir, though there have been a large number of traits and learnings that I have acquired because of my college. I am what I am because of my college. However, I think Empathy is one of the most important trait that I have tried to develop. Over a period of time I have tried to learn the art of listening more and understand the problem/ point of view of the other person. Thereafter analyze and provide my solution/ take on this. College has been pivotal to bring this aspect in me which I could clearly experience in my job after TISS.

C: Ok, you may go now. (pls pls, don’t disappoint me, hobby question ???)

I thanked the board for their time.

While coming out, I accidentally stumbled across the door, and there was a loud bang and some muffled voices coming from inside, I thought immediately negative 50 marks for not maintaining the poise. I want to think the same way, even now.

The mark sheet told a total of 184/300 marks in the above performance.  While I am happy knowing that many deserving candidates secure much lesser, I look up to the sky and say ok, you don’t want my ‘humility’ to suffer and hence no 230s/240s, which many others secure.  Bottom-line: I am satisfied and content with the results (ouch!!!).